English Language Requirements

Australia Awards logo

Bangladesh flag image 


Australia Awards – Intake 2018


Australia Awards Scholarships (AAS) 2018 intake is now closed.

What are the Australia Awards Scholarships English language requirements?

Applicants MUST have any of the following to be eligible:

IELTS (Academic): an overall score of at least 6.5 with no band less than 6.0;

TOEFL: a minimum paper-based test score of 580 with a minimum of 4.5 in the test of written English, or an internet-based TOEFL score of at least 92, with a minimum of 21 in all subtests;

PTE Academic: minimum overall score of 58 with no communicative skill score less than 50.

Women, persons with disability and those from ethnic minorities are allowed to submit an overall IELTS score of at least 6.0 with no band less than 5.5 (or equivalent TOEFL or PTE score). However, they must meet the English language admission requirement at an Australian University. Assistance will be provided to applicants from the above groups if they need to retake an English test.