English Language Requirement

Australia Awards logo

Nepal flag image



Australia Awards Scholarships - for study commencing in 2019

Applications for Australia Awards Scholarships commencing in January 2019 will open on 1 February 2018 and close 30 April 2018. Information regarding eligibility and the application process will soon be available on this webpage.

Before submitting an application for an Australia Awards Scholarship, applicants MUST read both the Scholarships Policy Handbook and the Nepal Country Profile.
All details about Australia Awards Scholarships are contained in the Handbook. Nepal-specific information is contained in the Country Profile.

What are Australia Awards Scholarships English Language Requirements?

  • All applicants require an IELTS (Academic) score average of 6.5 or above (with no individual band less than 6.0) or an equivalent TOEFL or PTE score. Scores must be valid on 1 January 2019.
  • Women, people with disability, members of traditionally marginalised groups and nominated public servants will be considered for eligibility with an IELTS (Academic) overall score of 6 or above (with no individual band less than 5.0) or an equivalent TOEFL or PTE test score. However, if offered an Australia Awards scholarship, these applicants must meet the English language requirements of their course.

Australia Awards Language Requirement - Nepal, 2019 Intake