English Language Requirements

Australia Awards logo

Bhutan flag image 


Australia Awards – Intake 2018

Australia Awards Scholarships (AAS) 2018 intake is now closed.

What are the Australia Awards Scholarships English Language Requirements?

Applications for Australia Awards Scholarships commencing in January 2018 will open on 1 February 2017 and will close on 30 April 2017, so now is the time to start preparing for your application, including ensuring that you satisfy the necessary English language requirements.

If you intend to apply for an Australia Awards Scholarship, you are encouraged to complete either an IELTS, TOEFL or PTE language examination well before your application is due.

Where to go for Tests?

IELTS is currently conducted by two organizations in Bhutan — the Royal Institute of Management (RIM) and the Institute for Management Studies (IMS), both located in Thimphu. TOEFL testing is conducted by the Royal Civil Service Commission (RCSC).

Please check with the respective organizations for test dates and fees.


To be eligible you must meet the following minimum standards in English language proficiency with the results valid as at 1 January 2018:

  • IELTS (Academic): an overall score of at least 6.5 with no band less than 6.0;
  • TOEFL: a minimum paper-based test score of 580 with a minimum of 4.5 in the test of written English, or an internet-based TOEFL score of at least 92, with a minimum of 21 in all subtests;
  • PTE Academic: minimum overall score of 58 with no communicative skill score less than 50.

Further information

For more information about Australia Awards visit www.australiaawards.gov.au


Contact the Australia Awards Bhutan Country Office:

Karsang Building No. 4, Room 204, Chorten Lam, Thimphu 11001
Tel: +975 2331845
Fax: +975 2334793
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.