Details about Intake 2018

Australia Awards logo

Maldives flag image 


Australia Awards – Intake 2018


Before submitting an application for an Australia Awards Scholarship, applicants MUST read the Scholarships Policy Handbook and the Maldives Country Profile.
All details about the Australia Awards Scholarships are contained in the Handbook. Maldives-specific information is contained in the Country Profile.

Australia Awards Maldives organizes free information sessions for all interested applicants. Attendance at these information sessions are through registration only.

ATTENTION: Submission of IELTS results after application deadline

In view of the fact that the IELTS test scheduled for March in Male’ has been cancelled due on account of the flu virus, Australia Awards Maldives will allow applicants to submit their IELTS results to the Australia Awards office via email after the application closing date provided they have sat the IELTS test before the application closing date (i.e. before 5.00pm on 30 April 2017). Applicants are required to submit documentary evidence with their application of having registered for an IELTS test before the application closing date.

Details about Intake 2018

For what sectors are Scholarships available?

Australia Awards Scholarships are provided to both the government and private/corporate sectors in bilaterally agreed priority development sectors in order to develop the human resource capacity of the Maldives. The priority development sectors align with the objectives of Australia's bilateral and regional aid programs.

The four priority development sectors approved for Intake 2018 are Economic Development, Education, Environmental Management and Good Governance.

The Scholarships are offered to study at Master’s level and can be undertaken in any area related to the approved fields of study list for each of the four sectors listed above. The Masters study program can be undertaken by coursework or by research, or a combination of the two. However, the maximum duration that DFAT will support a Master’s degree program is for two years.

What fields of study are available for Intake 2018?

The fields of study for each of the four development sectors for Intake 2018 are found below.

Applicants are encouraged to carefully consider study program and institution preferences before applying. The Australian Government will not entertain any changes to these after the application closing date.

Priority Sector Field of Study
Education Assessment and Evaluation
Early Childhood
Educational Management
Leadership and Management
Policy Studies / Education Policy
Science Education
Special Education
Marine Science

*Only college/university lecturers and secondary science teachers are eligible for these fields of study.

Economic Development Accountancy
Construction Management
Development Economics
Economics / Business Economics
Finance / Financial Management
Hospitality Management
Public Administration
Sustainable Tourism Management
Tourism / Hotel Management
Good Governance Community Development
Conflict Management / Dispute Resolution
Criminal Justice
Development Studies
Gender  / Gender and Development
Human Rights
Human Rights Law
Intellectual Property Law
Local Governance
Peace and Conflict Studies
Police Studies (including Forensic Science)
Security Studies (including Intelligence and Counter Terrorism)
Public Administration
Public Policy
Social Work
Environmental Management Disaster Management / Disaster Preparedness
Environment  / Climate Change
Environmental Management
Environmental Sustainability
Fisheries Biology & Management 
Fisheries Policy
Marine and Coastal Conservation
Marine Biology
Marine Environment
Natural Hazards
Project Management
Protected Area Management
Rural Development
Water Management / Water Treatment
Waste Management