Eligibility Requirements

Australia Awards logo

Nepal flag image



Australia Awards – Intake 2018

Australia Awards Scholarships (AAS) 2018 intake is now closed.

What are the eligibility requirements?

General eligibility criteria

You are eligible if you:

  • are over 18 years of age;
  • are a citizen of Nepal and currently residing in and applying for the Scholarship from Nepal;
  • satisfy all requirements of the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) for an Australian Student Visa sub-class 500;
  • satisfy the admission requirements of the institution at which the Award is to be undertaken (this may mean that award will be withdrawn if the recipient cannot satisfy the institution's admission requirements.)
  • satisfy English language requirements with an IELTS (Academic) average score of 6.5 or above (with no individual band less than 6.0), or a TOEFL paper-based test score of at least 580, with a minimum of 4.5 in the test of written English, or a TOEFL Internet-based score of at least 92, with a minimum of 21 in all sub-tests, or a Pearson Test of English Academic (PTE Academic) overall score of 58, with no communicative skill score less than 50.

You are NOT eligible if you are:

  • married, engaged to, or are a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency, at any part of the application, selection or mobilisation phases;
  • current serving military personnel;
  • applying for a course of study in Australia for which you have already achieved the same qualification that is deemed equivalent to the Australian qualification;
  • applying for another long term Australia Award without having resided outside of Australia for twice the length of the total time that you were in Australia (for example, a previous awardee who has been on an Australia Awards Scholarship in Australia for two years will not be eligible to apply for another Australia Awards Scholarship until they have been home for four years).

Detailed information on the Eligibility Criteria can be found in the Scholarships Policy Handbook.

Country-specific eligibility criteria 

In addition to the general eligibility criteria, applicants from Nepal must also meet the following country-specific criteria:

  • have either a four year Bachelor’s degree with three years’ relevant work experience; a three year Bachelor’s degree with at least one year Master’s degree with three years’ work experience; or two year Bachelor’s degree with at least a two year Master’s degree with four years’ work experience;
  • have an IELTS (Academic) average score of 6.5 or above (with no individual band less than 6.0) or equivalent (Scholarship Policy requirement).
  • applicants from the public sector who are nominated by the Government of Nepal must  have their nominations submitted to the Australian Embassy in Kathmandu by the Nepalese Ministry of Finance;
  • applicants wishing to study a Masters by Research must identify a supervisor;
  • Awards for 2018 must be taken in Semester 1 of 2018; they cannot be transferred to the following semesters.

For women, persons with disability, members of traditionally marginalized groups or applicants from the public sector nominated by the Government of Nepal, an IELTS (Academic) average score of 6.0 or above (with no individual band less than 5.0) or equivalent score in TOEFL or PTE will be considered.

Special conditions

Awardees are required:

  • to sign a contract with the Commonwealth of Australia declaring they will comply with the conditions of the Scholarship;
  • to return to Nepal for at least two years after completing their Scholarship, to contribute to the economic and social development of the country. Failure to do so will incur a debt to the Commonwealth of Australia for the total value of the Scholarship.

You can visit this link to verify whether you satisfy the eligibility criteria before commencing an application.